Radio Aleph
Radio Aleph
Notes on deconstructing the self | Notas sobre a desconstrução do eu
0:00
-44:04

Notes on deconstructing the self | Notas sobre a desconstrução do eu

→ Press play to listen to my conversation with João Villaverde about J.P. Cuenca’s work (in Portuguese).

→ Aperte o play para escutar a minha conversa com João Villaverde sobre a obra de J.P. Cuenca.

The newsletter can be read in English or Portuguese. For the Portuguese version, scroll down. 
A newsletter pode ser lida em inglês ou português. Para a versão em português, arraste para baixo.

English Version

I felt uncomfortable when I read “Descobri que Estava Morto” for the first time. Perhaps because I took the narrator for egocentric. Why would J.P. Cuenca think anyone would be interested in the story of what goes on in his own mind?, I thought. A middle-class white man who harbors dissatisfaction with the country’s social and political crises, but does nothing to change them? I was also deceived by the title and by the beginning of the narrative. I opened the book thinking I would read something by a Brazilian Raymond Chandler. And, indeed, Cuenca (with his fictional friend Tomás Anselmo) hires a detective to investigate his own death. But the book is not about that. The truth is that in my first reading, I didn’t know what story the book actually told.

Almost a year went by before I picked up “Descobri que Estava Morto” to read for the second time. I often re-read books, especially those I don’t like. I would like to say I do this in the expectation of being surprised, but that would be a lie: I do it because I want to confirm that I was right in my initial opinion. More than that, I do it to tell myself to be more selective with my limited time. So I re-read the book and felt ashamed of myself. How did I not understand what the book does when I first read it? What was the source of my resistance? And what does this resistance say about me as a reader?

I could only find answers to these questions after attending a lecture by the philosopher Agnes Callard at the university where I work. Callard introduced a chapter from her new book (still forthcoming) - the chapter is entitled “How to Be Wrong.” Based on the analysis of the interactions between the philosopher Socrates and the Athenian general and politician Alcibiades, she finds that one can only change her mind about important issues through the interaction with others. In other words, it is not possible for one to find herself being wrong alone. In order to be wrong, we need someone to engage us with difficult, and at the same time simple, questions, as Socrates did with Alcibiades. 

In my notes from Callard’s lecture, I wrote the word deconstruction. I was thinking about J.P. Cuenca’s book when I wrote it. “The book is a demolition exercise,” he told me in the podcast episode we launched earlier this month. That’s right: in the book, the narrator for whom I felt such aversion is demolished to the point of being completely invaded by another character. I felt uncomfortable reading his book because I saw myself in the main character: I am a middle-class woman who harbors dissatisfaction with the country’s social and political crises, but does nothing to change them. For readers such as myself, Cuenca’s book is, first and foremost, a mirror. If it were just that, it would be excellent. But the book goes further: it is an invitation to deconstruction. That makes the book ingenious. My discomfort was, then, twofold: I saw myself in the narrator and I did not accept his invitation. Even in front of the other who would, according to Callard, facilitate my own deconstruction, I chose to stay with my own fear. 

Thus, the importance of Cuenca’s book goes beyond the historical record of the decadence of Rio de Janeiro and Brazil. “Descobri que Estava Morto” instigates in the reader the desire for self-demolition. When I finished the second reading of the book, I realized I need to be more willing to deconstruct myself. As a researcher and a teacher, yes, but also as a citizen who lives in a democracy. In simple terms, a democracy brings together people who agree on little or almost nothing to make decisions that represent the wishes of the majority. When people are uncomfortable with the idea of being wrong, maintaining this regime becomes virtually impossible. We have observed exactly this behavior in several countries: social media has exacerbated ideological tribalism, leaving citizens increasingly averse to the vulnerability of potentially being wrong. In this sense, the self-demolition proposed by Cuenca is a democratic exercise. I invite you, reader, to read his book. As it happened with the narrator, I hope that you, too, look at your own face in the mirror without being able to recognize yourself for at least a few seconds. 

Versão em Português

Senti incômodo quando li “Descobri que Estava Morto” pela primeira vez. Talvez por ter enxergado o narrador como egocêntrico. Por que J.P. Cuenca acha que alguém se interessaria pela história do que se passa na cabeça dele?, pensei. Um homem branco de classe média que nutre insatisfação pelas crises social e política do país, mas nada faz para mudá-las? Também fui enganada pelo título e pelo começo da narrativa. Abri o livro pensando que leria algo escrito por um Raymond Chandler brasileiro. E, de fato, Cuenca (com o seu amigo fictício Tomás Anselmo) chega a contratar um detetive para investigar a sua própria morte. Mas o livro não trata disso. A verdade é que eu fiquei sem saber qual história o livro conta em minha primeira leitura. 

Quase um ano se passou até que eu pegasse “Descobri que Estava Morto” para ler pela segunda vez. É comum que eu releia livros, principalmente aqueles de que não gosto. Gostaria de dizer que faço isso na expectativa de ser surpreendida, mas não: faço porque quero confirmar que estava certa em minha opinião inicial. Mais do que isso, faço para dizer para mim mesma que preciso ser mais seletiva com o meu tempo tão curto. Pois reli o livro e, dessa vez, senti vergonha de mim mesma. Como eu não entendi o que o livro faz quando o li pela primeira vez? Qual a origem da minha resistência? E o que essa resistência diz sobre mim como leitora?

Só fui ter respostas para essas perguntas após assistir a uma aula da filósofa Agnes Callard na universidade onde trabalho. Callard apresentou um capítulo de seu novo livro (ainda não publicado) - o capítulo é intitulado “Como Estar Errado”. A partir da análise das interações entre o filósofo Sócrates e o general e político ateniense Alcibíades, ela identifica que só é possível mudar de ideia sobre assuntos importantes a partir da interação com o outro. Ou seja: não é possível se perceber errado sozinho. Para estarmos errados, precisamos que alguém nos engaje em perguntas difíceis e, ao mesmo tempo simples, como Sócrates fez com Alcibíades. 

Nas minhas anotações da aula de Callard, escrevi a palavra desconstrução. Estava pensando no livro de J.P. Cuenca. “O livro é um exercício de demolição”, ele me disse no podcast que lançamos no começo do mês. É mesmo: no livro, o narrador pelo qual senti tanta aversão é demolido a ponto de ser invadido totalmente por outro personagem. Senti incômodo ao ler o livro dele porque me enxerguei no personagem principal: sou uma mulher branca de classe média que nutre insatisfação pelas crises social e política do país, mas nada faz para mudá-las. Para leitores como eu, o livro de Cuenca é, em primeiro lugar, um espelho. Se ele fosse só isso, já seria excelente. Mas o livro vai além: ele é um convite à desconstrução. Isso faz o livro genial. O meu incômodo foi, então, duplo: enxerguei-me no narrador e não aceitei o seu convite. Mesmo diante do outro que, segundo Callard, facilitaria a minha própria desconstrução, optei por ficar com o meu receio. 

Assim, a importância do livro de Cuenca ultrapassa o registro histórico do momento de decadência do Rio de Janeiro e do Brasil. “Descobri que Estava Morto” instiga no leitor o desejo pela autodemolição. Ao terminar a segunda leitura, percebi que preciso estar disposta a me desconstruir. Como pesquisadora e professora, sim, mas também como cidadã que vive em uma democracia. Sendo simplista, a democracia agrega pessoas que concordam sobre muito pouco ou quase nada para tomar decisões que respeitem a vontade da maioria delas. Com pessoas desconfortáveis com a ideia de estarem erradas, a manutenção desse regime torna-se praticamente impossível. Temos observado exatamente esse comportamento em diversos países: as redes sociais potencializaram o tribalismo ideológico, deixando os cidadãos cada vez mais avessos à vulnerabilidade de estarem possivelmente errados. Nesse sentido, a autodemolição proposta por Cuenca é um exercício democrático. Convido você, leitor, a ler o livro dele. Assim como aconteceu com o narrador, espero que você também olhe para o seu próprio rosto no espelho e seja incapaz de se reconhecer por pelo menos alguns segundos.

Essa newsletter é produzida em parceria com o Espaço Rasgo, uma casa de cultura que promove a arte, o conhecimento, e o debate.

0 Comments
Radio Aleph
Radio Aleph
Radio Aleph é um podcast sobre política e ficção apresentado por Beatriz Rey e produzido por Rafael de Angelis. Radio Aleph is a podcast about politics and fiction hosted by Beatriz Rey and produced by Rafael de Angelis.
Radio Aleph is a podca